Knee locked, doubt it's meniscus tear.

Posted , 2 users are following.

Kind of a long story but I'm 44 years old and very active. I train jiu jitsu, practice yoga, lift weights and occasionally run a 5k.  I tore my meniscus back in 2016 and needed surgery.  I'd had a bad hip for years and in 2017 it came to a head.  I went to sit down cross legged and hip got torqued at the same time my knee popped and locked in place.  Ended up needing a hip replacement but the MRI showed that there was no damage to the knee even though it had locked.  The doctor told me I just need to strengthen the knee and that there was no meniscus or ligament damage. I get my hip replaced in 2018. Recovery has gone well.  I started doing yoga about 7 months post op.  My knee and hip were feeling good. I started training jiu jitsu again about 9 months post op.  I've been training jiu jitsu, walking daily, practicing yoga and lifting weights fine for the last year.  Two nights ago while training jiu jitsu, I went down on my side because of take down and when I went to get up I realized my knee had locked.  I straightened it out unlocking it.  I started to keep going but the knee felt a bit unstable so I stopped.   I've no real pain other than when I unlocked it.  So no swelling, no pain.  Just feels a little unstable if I sit in a cross legged position and pull my toes toward my body it feels like the knee is going to lock again.  I can knee, squat, walk and jog and no other problems.  Has anyone else ever experienced anything like this?  My plan at the moment is to not train jiu jitsu for  few weeks and just do exercises that I fell strong with.  Any advice or similar experience would be much appreciated.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted