knee pain 6mths after tkrp

Posted , 15 users are following.

I had a total knee replacement 6 months ago, now when i stand i get severe pain in the calf and behind the knee which leaves in mobile for a short time, it is very painful. The medics say there is nothing wrong with the knee, any ideas

1 like, 34 replies

34 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Sorry to hear that Mary, I am only 7days post op and I uses my expectations are a little high, I am a nurse and I am hoping to go back to work in 6 weeks but seeing what other people have posted this may be a bit ambitious
    • Posted

Tracy, as an RGN Id say give yourself at least 12 weeks as a 12 hour shift is hell without surgery. Im 12 weeks but had a pushback with RTA but without that Id be thinking of going back now. (I retired in August)
    • Posted

oh gosh, tracy!  very ambitious indeed!  then again, you may be one of the fortunate ones who have an amazing healing ability.  i had to go back to work physically at week 4 but only 60% office job every day.  but that was more than enough and i would have much preferred to be on my couch with my laptop on my lap!  so i really cannot imagine running around as a nurse.  if you can get more time off, take it and say thanks!
  • Posted

Hi Mary;

I had both knees done 5 months ago and there are times when I just want to cry from the pain, I get in my calfs and from my lower back. I have been told by my chriopactor and doctor that it will take time to get the muscle all back to normal because I had spent so much time walking funny that all the muscle are getting used to the new improved walking. I am not sure if I buy that or not, but for now I will go with it and see what happens. 

Good luck and I hope the pain goes away soon for you

Patricia 

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!