Knee Replacement

Posted , 5 users are following.

Have been told today that i need both knees replacing due to OA any advice on what to expect?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Alan.  I can tell you that my uncle at over 70 had both knees replaced and says it was the best thing he ever did.  He is now mobile again. I don't think he's were because of OA though.  If it helps I would certainly go for it if I was in your position but my main bit of advice would be to follow the doctors' orders and make sure you do everything they tell you to do for as long as they tell you to do it.  This is make sure you heal properly.

Hope this helps. 

• Posted

Hi Alan, I have OA but mine is in a location where the joint cannot be replaced so I have no personal knowledge of this surgery.  Whilst I  was in hospital as a result of a major accident I was in the orthopaedic surgical ward and a number of others there were having this done.  All were up and about very swiftly and everyone commented about how nice it was to be out of pain.  They will probably only do one at a time, to give you time to recuperate before the next one.  As soosisoo has said, it's critically important to follow their advice about how best to recover to get the best possible outcome, eg diet, exercise etc.  As with any surgical procedure, the fitter you are going into it, the quicker the recovery time.  Discuss with your consultant/surgical team what self-help measures you can take before the surgery to make sure you get into the best possible condition beforehand.  Good luck hon.
  • Posted

I look forward to hearing the answers as I am going for a knee X-Ray tomorrow prior to discussing my options
  • Posted