Knee replacement recovery

Posted , 12 users are following.

As with most of us here I have no previous experience of having a TKR. I don't honestly know if I am doing well or badly. It is exactly two weeks since my procedure and can get upstairs without support, carefully, and have about 80/85% bend in my knee. I can sleep for about 8 hours before pain, not extreme, wakes me and I have to get up. I can walk around my smallish garden several times with crutches quite comfortably. My knee is about 25% bigger due to swelling than my other knee and does feel fairly weak at the moment. Is all this normal, am I doing well or badly ? I only ask as I have no idea if my recovery is going well or not. Thank you to all who contribute, to my question or others. Together we are better informed and stronger with the support of each other. 

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Sounds good!

☺Everyone is different but we all find it hard!

I am six months down the line and it was completely worth it.

I have my life back!

You may like to go to my profile by clicking on the image next to my name. I kept a journal of my own knee replacement journey, and I have been told by several people they found it helpful to read, or skim through. It was written to convey the need for patience, something our culture in the western world is not really geared up to! It has a lot of useful suggestions and information. Good for dipping in and out of!

Blessings to you for your recovery.

• Posted

Thank you so much jenny I will read the journal. I really do need to learn to be a patient patient. Thank you also for your kind wishes. 
  • Posted

From past experience I think you are doing extremely well, hope my next TKR goes as well as yours smile Hope you go from strength to strength, dont forget to and ice to help the swelling go down and do the exercises it will help increase the bend smile Have you had much physio?
    • Posted