L4/L5 awaiting surgery -advice/tips please

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi

This is my first time on this site. I have been off work for 4 months with severe pain (was in hospital for a week at end august) in agony -severe leg pain. MRI showed broad based prolapse at L4/L5 and was started on range of medication (gabapentin, dihydracodeine, paracetamol), was sent home on 2 crutches. I saw the orthopaedic surgeon in October who referred me to neurosurgeon and also physio. I had physio (acupuncture, Mckenzie exercises and tens machine) with no cumulative effect. I have been back and forward to my gp and now on baclofen (muscle relaxant) and increasing meds. I can manage now with one crutch when outside, can walk to the car and can drive just locally for about 5 mins before pain gets too bad. My life at the moment bears no resemblance to life before this all started. I saw the neurosurgeon in December who went through my MRI in great detail - prolapse at L4/L5 so big and pressing on nerve that there is less than 5% chance of any further recovery without surgery. I also have a prolapsed disc further up which is not causing me problems at the moment and he said that the discs in between are "not great" either. So he took decision out of my hands (as less than 5% chance of any further recovery, and I can't get back to work with pain, mobility, disturbed sleep, amount of meds and inability to drive distance etc). So... he said surgery will be around end of January and will have piece of bone removed and then as much of the disc removed as he can get, he said around 85% success of pain going but that numbness down leg/foot and pins and needles won't go as the nerve is permenantly damaged there. I am hoping others have been through similar and can maybe give me some advice/tips to help me cope in the days leading up to and following surgery and recovery.

Thank you and looking forward to responses.

A

2 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi everyone