Labs analysis

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi,

I think I've a problem with my thyroid. I have many symptoms of hypothyroidism. I did labs that are recommanded to determined if there's a problem. There's the results : TSH 1.5 mUI/L, FT4 15,6 pmol/L, FT3 5,4 pmol/L, TBG 14.1 µg/mL, RT3 0,038 nmol/L, DHEA 250,55 ug/dl, anti-TPO 26 IU/mL, TgAb 25 IU/mL, Cortisol AM 268 nmol/L.

I know that my adrenals glands are low, but I don't know if I have a thyroid issue. I've read about T3/TBG ratio and the FT3/RT3 ratio, but I don't know how to calculate.

Can somebody help me please?

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello PKCam:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease.

Your TSH is 1.5  and the range is 0.45 to 4.50 and that is normal at 1.5.

FreeT4 is (FT4)  15.6?   Should be 0.82  to 1.77   (too high at 15.6)

Free T3 is 5.4 ?  Should be 2.50 to 3.90  (this seems too high at 5.4)

TPO 26 should be  0 to 34 so you are normal there.

TgAb  should be 0.0 to 0.9  and you are at 25

Cortisol should be 2.3 to 19.4  and you are at 268? 

DHEA should be 2.94 to 220.5 and yours is 250.55  HIGH/abnormal.

can you recehck your lab values and give us the ref. range since you are way high on Cortisol and FT4 and FT3.  It could be Hypothyroid but your TSH is normal. I am leaning towards Adrenal gland problems.

Your  adrenal gland is producing too much cortisol and you should have imaging to see if there is a tumor on it.  A lot of people get this.  Also be checked for CUSHING's Disease. This disease can make you gain weight and be tired also.

Symptoms of Hypothyroid are: feeling cold, low temp, bruising, weight gain, nails are brittle hair loss and dry scalp, muscle aches, no periods or irregular ones, feeling depressed, sleepy/tired all the time.  There are more these are common.

Please recheck the lab work values and see if I am correct from what values you gave us.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi shellyC19,