Lactose intolerance

Posted , 7 users are following.


I have Coeliac disease and now it looks like I have a Lactose intolerance. Have now started searching products and it seems soy/soya has a certain amount of lactose in it? Is this true and is soya lecithin something I may have to avoid? Help...!!!!

I hope someone can help?


0 likes, 10 replies

Report / Delete

10 Replies

  • Posted

    Hi there,

    lactose is a milk sugar and not in beans such as soya? I am milk intolerant, more the protein than the lactose I believe and have drank soya milk for 20 years without issue.

    Hope that helps,


    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    This is a list from NHS england ofLactose-free foods and drinks:

    There are a number of alternative foods and drinks available in supermarkets to replace the milk and dairy products you need to avoid.

    Food and drinks that do not usually contain lactose include:

    soya yoghurts and cheeses

    coconut-based yoghurts and cheeses

    almond milk, yoghurts and cheeses

    rice milk

    oat milk

    hazelnut milk

    foods with the "dairy-free" or "suitable for vegans" signs

    carob bars


    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

    You must have access to a dietician if you are coeliac?? They are the source of reliable info about diet for any such intolerances.

    But when I searched I found articles about also having problems with soy - that doesn't mean it has lactose, it means there is a parallel problem for some people.

    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      I don't see the dietician any more. just nervous as there is a lot of soy, soya, soya lecithin in my gluten free products..!!! it's all getting very confusing. thank you so much for your advice.

      Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      Soy itself shouldn't be a problem - but products that aren't aimed at people requiring lactose-free food won't guarantee it. However, unless you have a rare genetic condition, most people can tolerate the tiny amounts of lactose you find in most products. It is larger amounts at a time that cause problems. Like cereal with milk and a milky coffee at the same time or soon after. In fact, it is recommended that you don't exclude it altogether.

      Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

      As I Said above Michelle,

      Soy products don't have lactose. Soy lecithin doesn't contain lactose. I also have wheat free products, which are mostly gluten free and definitely milk free.


      Report / Delete Reply

Join this discussion or start a new one?

New discussion Reply

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!

We want the forums to be a useful resource for our users but it is important to remember that the forums are not moderated or reviewed by doctors and so you should not rely on opinions or advice given by other users in respect of any healthcare matters. Always speak to your doctor before acting and in cases of emergency seek appropriate medical assistance immediately. Use of the forums is subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and steps will be taken to remove posts identified as being in breach of those terms.

newnav-down newnav-up