Large Ovarian Cyst Operation... Terrified!

Posted , 7 users are following.

End of August this year I was diagnosed with an Ovarian Cyst that they believe is 30cm.

I'm booked in for surgery the end of this month and I am terrified of the recovery period and the operation too because 1. Im a nurse and know what they do and 2. Because I don't want to wake up with no reproductive system.

I am losing the ovary and tube and because I am only 25, I'd like to go on to have children in the near future so I'm having nightmares of them cutting me open finding out it's completely messed with my insides and take it all out.

They have told me they plan to go in keyhole but if they find it difficult, they will make an incision on my bikini line and I will have a c section like cut.

I can't take codeine and I'm sure paracetamol won't touch a surgical incision pain! All I'm left with is morphine!

I'm also curious to know how much this could weigh? Trying to look at the positives in this... I'm surely going to lose a considerable amount in a matter of hours. If I think of the fact I'm being operated on and losing some of my reproductive system, I think I will become very depressed and hate my body even more than I already do. It got this large and has destroyed my insides (and outside for that matter) before giving me any sign it existed. My body has let me down.

Has anyone had a similar size cyst? How was the op? The recovery? I'm trying to prepare myself for everything otherwise I will be a wreck haha!

Thanks for taking the time to read this essay!

Kellie x

2 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi there,

I m scheduled to see an oncologist because my gynecologist said mine was 15 cm...I go next week and pretty nervous. It's been making me pee more and it hurts when I do certain things. I'm not sure if it's getting bigger either.. Good luck love

• Posted