Lasting Dietary Restrictions

Posted , 6 users are following.

I had my gallbladder removed about 15 hours ago. How did your diet change in the long term after your GB removal? What foods did you have to cut out of your diet because they simply weren't worth the distress they cause? What foods have you come to appreciate post-GB removal that you didn't before?

I work as a chef and I've never really had to think about dietary restrictions until now. I don't really know what to expect and it's making me a little nervous. I appreciate your input.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Had mine out on April 10 this year. I am finding I can't eat ice cream. Just makes my stomach queasy. And red meat is somewhat difficult to digest for me. Also I do like salad but I just can't have a really big one as the lettuce might be too much.

My GI doc told me I should eat Greek yogurt for the rest of my life. So every afternoon around 2:00 I have a bowl and add a few walnuts and a touch of honey or applesauce. That is very new for me. I might have had it once a week if that.

Just today I really thought I should keep a food journal and bought a notebook to keep track for a while noting my weight, etc.

I wish I had done it right after surgery.

I think too for me I eat 6 small meals a day and that is different than what I did before.

Love to hear what others have done.

• Posted