leg pain & swelling

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was told I was hypo several yrs age since then suffering with heaviness and pain and swelling in calves of legs also swollen feet.  I have been to over 30 dr trying to get answers.  Endos keep saying it is something else.  Told it is not a rheumatology or neurologic problem.  I have lost too many yrs of my life and now can just about walk.  Has anyone had this problem??

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Sounds like you are under medicated.what was your last labs? What med are you using? How much? 
    • Posted

Working with a new endo right now and he is working with meds but I have had the heaviness and swelling even when the levels were supposed to be right.  One dr said I was allergic to something in them and put me on otheres then said it is not the meds ?????????????
    • Posted

had tests last week waiting for copy of results-will post when I get them
  • Posted

Hello Marge:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse.  Swelling (Edema medical word) is a problem that can come from cardiac problems and high BP and also somtimes low thyroid.

Have you any cardiac  (Heart) problems?   High Blood pressure is also a problem that can cause swelling in the legs.  They have diuretic's  "water pills" that can help you also.

How about seeing a Cardiologist and getting it looked at?  How is your blood levels TSH and T4 and T3?

Any questions just ask,  Shelly

• Posted

Just got copy of lab results TSH 83.22   range 0.40-4.50  and T4 free 0.5 range 0.8-1.8 waiting for dr to call me re these results.  He had told me that t4 adn t3 were ok. I dont have a copy of those results.  I have been told that heart and blood pressure or ok.  I was on ARmour at one time and still had problems.  I have no problems with my joints, my knees can take me up and down the stairs, it is the inner calf of my leg that bothers me.  No NSAID helps, in fact it makes the swelling worse.