Legal high (powders) addiction/withdrawl - help needed.

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm about to come a cropper and go through withdrawl because of the legal high ban.  Don't get me wrong I want the ban as it's probably the only way I'd stop.  I'm currently addicted to the research powders, I've managed to stop taking the synthetic cannabis but these powders are terrifically addictive.  Well to me anyway. I take it everyday 3 to 6 grams

So my question is about withdrawl.  I've managed about 5 days before but it wasn't getting a lot better so started again.  What should I expect and for how long roughly? I hold down a job so can't start climbing up the walls there! So have taken 9 days off - do you think that will be enough time for the worst to be over?

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I am a drugs researcher, and have to let you know that the latest research shows that many synthetic cannabinoids are as physically addicting as heroin. Research has not yet  caught up with what is the best treatment for people hooked on synthetic cannabis (spice/mamba), but what we do know from speaking to spice users who have successfully got off this toxic much is this: (1) you can try slowly reducing your spice smoking - if you are using 6 grams a day, this would mean dropping about a gram every 7 days until you get to about 3 grams a day, then try dropping by a half-gram every 7 days; when you get to one  gram a day, switch to dropping a quarter gram every 7 days, until you get down to none. (2) You will still experience low-level withdrawals (expect some sleepless nights, get a good long novel to read etc) so use OTC symptom-specific meds to deal with other withdrawals (eg. anti-diarhoea meds, paracetamol for body pains, anti-nausea meds, etc.).  (3) some spice users have managed to come off smaller habits - about 1 to 2 grams per day - by switching back to natural cannabis, the stronger the better (eg. skunk), because it will reduce many withdrawals from