Lexapro and morning anxiety

Posted , 66 users are following.

Hi does anyone find their anxiety is significantly higher in the mornings? Have been on Lexapro for 2 weeks now (1 week @5mg then 1 week @10mg.)

I find the morning anxiety awful upon waking, with racing thoughts and every problem even small ones seem overwhelming to the point of feeling nauseous. Will this subside? Dr has given me Diazepam which I find I'm taking every morning. Im new to Lexapro after previously being on Prozac and Mirtazapine (which I hated and asked Dr to change) although I still take 7.5mg at.night for sleep. Just want to feel normal again and wake up looking forward to the day and feeling positive about things rather than the dread I have now sad

2 likes, 180 replies

180 Replies

Next
  • Edited

Mornings were terrible for me too. It gets better, I promise. It took me 5 weeks for the lexapro to kick in all the way. I started on 5mg and worked my way up to 20mg. I think it was a week and a half at  20mg when it all kicked it. I noticed my anxiety in the mornings lasted shorter and shorter until I woke up feeling good and motivated. I did take klonopin in the morning and at night to curb the anxiety. I also had Ativan for when things got really bad. I took .25mg klonopin in the morning and a night so it was a low dose. Don’t be afraid to take the anxiety meds to get through this tough time. Hang in there, it gets better and know you not alone...so many people have been exactly where you are now. Lexapro has been great for me and I feel completely back to my normal self again. Lexapro is my first AD and I now know why people say to hang in there for the full 6-8 weeks bc it works. Just know your not alone. 
    • Edited