Liver biopsy results and likelihood of cancer

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi This is my first time posting and only recently discovered I have HH. My liver biopsy came back stating I had moderate liver deposition of iron and called it a grade 3 out of 4.  There was no cirrhosis or malignancy seen. Now I  am waiting for a liver ultrasound because my doctor said this increases my chance of certain liver cancers and will begin receiving phlebotomy treatments in a couple days.  My questions are: have many of you developed cancer from HH?  Are any of you guys female and of childbearing age ( I am a 36 yo female)?  How did HH affect you ability to work full time?  I’ve been off on medical leave and was supposed to return today but then got this information.  I’m still tired all the time but my hematologist says it’s not because of HH and that everyone is tired 🙄. Any input would be appreciated. 

Thanks

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Relax and take a breath.  I went thru same thing. I am 41 now and liver biopsy when I was 21.  Good news is that no cirrosis!!! Your phlebotomys will eventually get you feeling better!  Don’t worry - because I drove myself crazy years ago thinking the worst thoughts.  Let them get all the information first.  

• Posted

Thanks. I know I need to relax. I alays jump to worst case scenarios
  • Posted

Hi Jessica, I have HH and am tired most of the time too. Fatigue is one of the main symptoms so not sure why your hematologist would say it wasn't. I recently found out too and am a 41yr old female.

• Posted

Do you work? And if so did you need your work to allow for any sort restrictions?  I’m currently employed 40 hours a week 8-5 Monday through Friday and have 2 children (3 and 5) that I’m alone with from 5 on ( their dad works second shift). I don’t feel capable of working 8 hours a day but need the job and need it full time for health insurance. I’m at a loss of what to do
    • Posted