Liver enzyme level of 47 for ALT

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hi I had a blood test two weeks ago and i called the clinic today and they said everything was fine (CBC, Diabetes, Cholesterol, Liver tests) except one of my enzymes was at 47, which is just above the 45 max. Problem is last year it was the same, and the year before that also. Always high 40's.

I don't drink at all, my BMI is 24.5, and I don't really think I'm fat except for maybe a bit of flab around the belly. I don't do drugs and the only supplement i take is occasional magnesium. 

Should I do something about this? Or is that just a normal reading for me? I'm 35

Thanks

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Michael,

I am not an expert or Dr on liver tests but having had about a hundred of them in the past year I have come to learn a things or too. ALT is a marker for liver cell damage. So at a level just higher than normal I wouldn't be overly concerned. If any other markers go up with it then I would be concerned. Have you have any scans? I would say you need an ultrasound at least. My high markers were put down to a fatty liver. Which I have managed to clear. However my ALP level is up and down like you wouldn't believe. Very annoying and worrying for me but I've had to learn that's it probably just the way my body is. It's never higher than 3 marks above normal and always comes down again.

I have read that it is best to fast for at least 8 hours prior to a liver test as something as simple as I fatty meal can cause readings to be abnormal. I found this to be true as I ate a McDonald's and had a milkshake before one of my tests and my levels jumped up slightly. However on my next test a week later (after fasting) they were normal again.

Do you have any other symptoms? Right sided pain? Loose stools? Fatigue?

Gem

• Posted