Locked knee and torn cartilage

Posted , 3 users are following.

After three months had an MRI scan and having keyhole surgery next Tueday to repair this. Having a lot of back and hip pain because limping for a long time. What is the recover time after this op. Just feels like a cripple at the moment legs very stiff regards Bev

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Bev,

I too am having a knee arthroscopy, mine is tomorrow. I will be interested to hear how others have coped and how long the recovery period is. I have been advised to take 4 weeks off work after, I think it depends on what your job is? I am a staff nurse so I am on my feet for 8 hours!!

Good luck with your surgery!! Please feel free to ask me any questions over the next few weeks if I can help you?

Pauline.

• Posted

Hi thanks for your reply. Did yiu have to wait a long time for your op and are you in pain now. .? Hope all goes well for you tomorrow and your up and about soon. My job is sitting down but find it very hard to walk very far as the knee is locked.
    • Posted

Well I did the injury last October, I fell down some steps when I was recovering from a knee replacement on the other knee!!

I had the MRI at the end of January saw the consultant for the results about 5 weeks later. He put me on the waiting list and it's been 6 weeks since then, So it's not been too bad I suppose? I haven't had the 'locking' just pain especially climbing stairs, getting in and out the car, and getting off the settee?

The MRI showed I have 2 tears either side of my knee. Best of luck with your op too!!

• Posted

Thanks for your reply best of luck to you take care and let us know how it goes for you πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ Bev
  • Posted

Hey Finley