Long head of biceps torn

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'm 12 weeks into rehabbing my non-dominant shoulder for a complete tear of my biceps tendon. Unfortunately, I have at some time in the past torn 3 of 4 tendons of my rotator cuff, so my entire shoulder has been acting up as a result.

I work as a nurse and I know this has been a long time coming. I have seen marked improvement with physical therapy, but am seriously worried about re-injury. There is no light duty where I work. Once I'm back I'm totally back in the fray of things. I see my ortho doc in 2 days, and don't know whether to push for more time off. I'm pretty confident with deliberate, thought-out movements, but I work in an operating room where you might have to do something automatically without forethought. Patients can be combative when emerging from general anesthesia, and I might have to suddenly hold/restrain an arm or a leg.

Does anyone have any experience with this? I just came from PT where I'm working a lot on using my affected arm and right now it's killing me, not at the bicep but across the top of my shoulder.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

See if you can qualify for a Superior Capsular Reconstruction.

• Posted

Thanks, I hadn't heard of that procedure. Just read up on it with this: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6372269/ . I know both my doc and physical therapist had said that long term results of other arthroscopic repair, although superior to physical therapy initially, ended up with the same result long term. I don't know if they were including this procedure. The doc didn't think I was a candidate for surgical repair.