Looking for answers.....

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello all!  I have recently been having symptoms related to hyperthyroidism.  Heart palps, rapid HR, dry skin, anxiety, etc... Two weeks ago my TSH was .652 and my new labs say its now .974.  They tested my FT4 and it was within normal range as was my T3.  Do I need to have my FT3 tested to get a definitive diagnosis or should I be satisfied with the results from the tests I've gotten?  Also, should I ask for the antibody tests to test for Hashimoto's or is there no evidence to suspect that it may be an issue?

Thanks so much for any advice or information!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Melissascholl:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

Hyper symptoms can be dangerous if your heart rate does not settle down.  Hyper can cause heart palpitations and  anxiety also. Do not do exercise if feeling a high heart rate as it can lead to an arrythmia which can lead to a cardiac arrest.  Some other Hyper symptoms are, feeling HOT and sweating a lot, losing weight fast and unable to keep it on, shaking, nervousness, jittery, insomnia, fast heart rate and the ones I said above.

Which thyroid medication are you on and strength?  You may need to adjust the dosage a bit, if this keeps happening.

However if your FT4 and T3 were okay then that should be enough.  If you wish on your next labs (blood work) you could ask for that test.  Better is a Reverse T3 (RT3) test to see if too much excess is being dumped by the liver.

Hashimoto's is an sutoimmune disease that can run in familes and also be caused by a virus called Epstein-Barr or Mononucleosis and if you have a family history of it  Hashi's can cause swings in your TSH and your symptoms may be Hyper and then Hypo.