Lost My singing voice

Posted , 5 users are following.

I use this karaoke app called smule sing and sing in school assembly's, concerts, plays, etc. On the singing app I frequently post new recordings of mine. But I haven't done one in about 3 months. And all day today. I've tried to make a decent sound come out of my throat. But there's nothing, either I'm too quiet or I'm loud enough but sound so bad everyone wants me to go back to being too quiet. Please help me. This is very detrimental to my career I'm a young singer/singer writer. I need help. I spoke with my assistant. And if I can't sing in the next 2 weeks I may be close to loosing  my job. And my spot on the stage!!! 😓😓😓

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to hear of  your lost voice.

This is most probably a result of extra-oesophageal reflux.

Have you spoken to your doctor about it? He'll probably just give you acid suppressant medication which will make any reflux less damaging but not cure the reflx itself.

You'll need to minimise the reflux by losing weight if necessary, not over-filling your stomach by eating little and often. Leave at least 3 hours between last meal and going to bed and raise your bedhead by 6 to 8 inches on blocks.

If you are unable to manage your reflux in this way, you may have to have reflux reduction surgery.

Sorry, no instant cure. I know of a professional singer who had the operation and Dolly Parton had a LINX implant (which is nearly as good).

• Posted