Low morning cortisol/High night time cortisol - Adrenal Insufficiency and hypothyroidism.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, my energy is particularly low at the moment but once I start going into things I usually can't stop, so I'm going to deliberately keep this short and sweet.

I have researched thoroughly and believe the reason I have felt so much more ill since taking levothyroxine is because I also have secondary/tertiary AI and even the warnings in the patient leaflets for levothyroxine say that adrenal issues may need to be addressed before starting on thyroxine.

I have been fighting to try and get the NHS to listen to me for 2 years, it's been a complete nightmare and i am just about at the stage of giving up altogether and going for self treatment.

I have no quality of life, in bed most of the time and cannot do anything any more.

My ACTH and cortisol levels have been low and getting lower since I first saw the first endo, in February last year. 

I had an insulin tolerance test that showed an 8 am starting cortisol level of 43nmol (1.56 ug/dl), and did not increase at all in response to induced hypoglycaemia; in fact in went down to 26 nmol (0.94 ug/dl), hopefully that will mean something to someone. From my research and with my other blood results through the year it supports secondary/tertiary AI.