Low red blood cell count

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi group, I'm a newbie so if I break any rules please excuse me. I went to my GP a few weeks ago after several months of achy legs and general tiredness. It's the kind of feeling you get in your legs if you have a bad cold or flu; not pain, just a weak and feeling that something's not quite right. The doc ordered a blood test and I don't know the units per ml or whatever measure they use but mine is 7. Normal is apparently 30 (for a pregnant or menstruating woman) to 300 for a healthy man. Can anyone help me with the scientific units used for the results, ie, seven whats per what? Investigation on the net seems to show things measured in millions but I was so shocked a the GP that I didn't ask this. I'm now on high-strength iron pills and am having a colonoscopy, endoscopy and bone marrow sample. I'm a vegetarian but have been for 27 years and this issue has never arisen. I'm knackered all the time and really quite anxious about the possible causes. The doctor said there's a 90% chance it's nothing more serious than a stomach ulcer. But any help with the units of measurement to which she referred? Thanks!

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I am also new to the group. I can understand where you are coming from because i too suffered from anaemia for a few years and struggled with the constant feeling of tiredness and other associated symptoms. I am ok now. i would advice you to wait and get all the results from your doctor for confirmation and treatment and also if you are unsure about the units of measurements used ask your doctor or get clarification from another clinical practitioner.

To reduce your anxiousness try distraction strategies such as listening to relaxing classical music or any calming music of choice and also occupy yourself with some of the gentle activities you enjoy doing. Try not to think about what the doctor told you.