Low sodium diet and a diuretic

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am new to all of this and I have a lot of questions. One of the main things I'd do I have to do both a diuretic (I am taking one daily) and the low sodium diet. I feel I like I am going to starve. I sometimes can't even eat a real meal and end up eating a lot of things that aren't really a meal. I am feeling depressed with my food options. Any info would be great.

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

If the diet is not working for you, you may discuss intratympanic steriod injections with your ENT doctor.

Eleftherios S. Papathanasiou, PhD, FEAN

Clinical Neurophysiologist

Fellow of the European Academy of Neurology

• Posted

Hi Jackie.  Are you sure you have MD?  Were you diagnosed by an ENT doctor?  If so, a diuretic and salt restriction (1000 mg/day max) are the first stage of treatment.  I have had MD for 40 years and have lived comfortably with these restrictions.  To get on a good diet regimin sounds difficult but is quite manageable.  You might want to develop a habit of doing the following:

1.  when eating out, stay away from fast food places other than to order salads.  Most other restaurants will happily prepare your meal without salt....you just need to request it.

2.  when shopping for food always read the label and notice the grams of sodium.  There are thousands of food selections that have low sodium.  Keep in mind the 1000 mg daily limit.

3.  when cooking at home, just do not use any salt at all.  Try using Mrs Dash products or vinegars in your cooking.  If you use butter, buy the salt free kind.

4.  Make as many meals at home (vs eating out) as you need to manage your salt intake.

5.  Within only a couple weeks your taste for salt will diminsh greatly and you will not even miss it....I assure you it is possible to do.