Low vitamin B12....

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello...

I hope you can help me. I am not really sure where to start but hoping for some advice as my GP doesn't seem to understand.

Firstly I have been quite symptomatic the past 3 weeks and I am currently signed off of work. I am a general nurse but this situation is baffling to me.

First of all I started to notice some weight loss which was welcomed and not drastic. I also felt really shattered but have changed job and moved house so I expected that as a consequence. I also have suffered IBS but have been having diarrhea on numerous occasions in past 6 months even though I follow a balanced diet of veg and protein.

However, the past few weeks I have Been really struggling. I first started to feel quite light headed and like a fuzzy drunk feeling in my head. At first it was every few hours then it increased to most of the time. I also found it a struggle with my eyesight and often feel blurred vision or a struggle to adapt to lights at night. I was sitting watching TV quite relaxed and suddenly I felt like my heart skipped a beat and I became light headed. I got really scared and decided to go to the gp. I ended up having to go to out of hours and they referred me for bloods but had me complete different tests. I could not walk in a straight line as I was losing my balance. This was very frustrating. I also started to get numbness and heaviness in my hands and right arm. Getting to sleep at night is difficult although after I sleep I still feel like I need more.

Anyways my mood has been low and I have been diagnosed with depression previously.... but the way I am feeling I could see it rearing it's head again and I was really feeling sorry for myself.