Lower leg (calf) pain - could it be due to Prednisone?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was, in total, 5 weeks on Prednisone.

I completed my course on 22 Dec but only about 25/26th I started waking up in the mornings with really terrible lower leg pain, calf to be precised. This pain is really bad in the morning and at night.

Could it be a side symptoms of the steroids?

Other than the above and terrifying mood swings (from super hyper to quite sad) I didn't have major side symptoms during the time of the treatment (maybe also bit rounded face now and then and occasional spells of tiny dizziness) - why does the body react post treatment and why my calfs hurt so bad?

Should I worry and seek medical assistance?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Barbara, I'm not a doctor of course, but I really think you should get the lower calf pain reviewed by a doctor just in case it is something like a deep vein thrombosis in which case it would obviously require quick treatment. From my limited experience, the pain and muscle aches etc from steroid withdrawal are all over the body not just in one place. All the best Jill

• Posted

Thank you Jill for your reply. Today I am fine but I'll make sure I see a doctor once I feel the leg pain again. Bx

• Posted

Hi Barbara

I'm not a doctor either, but if you're in pain then I'd say you should see a doctor as Jill replied. You didn't mention how high your dosage was, but their are loads of side effects to the steroids. My advice is to be patient (come off steroids slowly and expect some side effects). The good news is that the moon face will go, and the side effects do go away, eventuallysmile

• Posted

Hi! Thanks for your reply. The treatemnt was bit comlicated so it was 5 days of 500mg (100mg a day) then ''quick fix'' this didn't work and I was being eventually (after circa 3-4days) given 5 weeks treatement in daily doses of 70mg, 40mg, 20mg, 10mg and 10mg every other day to come off the steroids.