lumbar Laminectomy (between L4 /L5)

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi: I had a lumbar laminectomy (L4/L5) surgery in Nov. 2017, and the procedure went well. Before the surgery, my legs were weak. I started riding a stationary bike after 8 weeks post surgery, and my legs strength gradually improved. I also did follow PT instruction to gently strengthen my core muscles.

The question to the people who had a similar lumbar laminectomy:

Sometimes, I still have a lower back muscle pain around the tailbone (coccyx area).

I normally take slow-release Tylenol to ease the pain. 

I am planning to go back to the PT again to improve my core muscle.

I appreciate if anyone has a similar experience and how to resolve this issue?

Thanks.

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

My daughter was squatting 310 pounds (5' 2". 115 pounds...yes, she's an uber-strong personal trainer) a number of years ago when her feet slipped and the weight came down on her as her spotter missed most of the bar.  Compression fracture of L1 and microfractures of S1-S5.  After 2 years, she was still in pain.  It took a neurosurgeon to do an MRI of her coccyx to find out that it was completely shattered...shards everywhere.  This took a very delicate surgery to fix as all the pieces had to be removed.