lumbar puncture?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I had a lumbar puncture almost 5 weeks ago because I was having a bad headache that lasted over a month and they still couldnt figure out why im having the headaches there telling me stress and anxiety, tension headaches. Anyways has anyone els had a problem with there back after the spinal tap/ lumbar puncture

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

I hit the wrong button I wasnt done yet, anyways im having some back pain still, its not terrible just wondering if anyone else has.
  • Posted

Absolutely! I'm a midwife and lots of women who had epidurals during their labours had back pain for a very long time afterwards.

I had an epidural for a Caesarean Section and I could feel the exact spot for about a year afterwards.

I'm only mentioning this because a lumbar puncture is pretty much the same as an epidural.

• Posted

Ok ty I have been having some anxiety and I work myself up alot. They put me through so much and I had 3 actually, 1 with the blood patch. Anyways its my lower back and kinda both sides of my hips. Thought maybe they hit a nerve or something. Thank you for the fast responce. I asked the dr and they said it takes time.
    • Posted

It DOES take time, honey.

Sometimes a year!

Can you try to tell yourself that your anxiety is playing tricks on you here?

• Posted

Yes, im getting better at that. I just always think the worse and think somethings wrong and alls they want me to do is take pills. I dont like taking pills
    • Posted

Good for you.

Just try to tell yourself that your reaction to the lumbar puncture is normal and nothig else is wrong. Difficult, I know..........

Hugs.

• Posted

Mindy

Yes I had been diagnosed with Viral Meningitis. I also had anothe lumber puncture after a car accident. I prefer to not go through another one again.

It can be sore for a few days I remember I had to keep my neck and heat still for about a day if I remember

BOB

• Posted