Lump under adam's apple

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone recently I've had this strange sensation in the back of my throat like something is always stuck there

Today I have noticed that directly under my adams apple is what feels like a lump a second adams apple so to speak, is this normal? I've never really sat and felt my neck so I wouldn't know if it has always been there or not and I don't know whether I should be worried or not sad

Thanks

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hello James:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease and I have 3 nodules also.

An Endocrinologist can feel the thyroid gland and then order an Ultrasound and that can pick up any nodules or cysts and show the size of the gland.

Many of us get thyroid nodules and the majority of them are not cancerous but it is wise to have an ultrasound to rule out any problems and if needed a Fine Needle biopsy.

I hope this helps,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi shelly

Thank you for replying I'm really struggling at the moment my anxiety isn't helping!

I constantly feel like I have this lump in my throat, I started with stomach pain but that has totally dissappearEd now, I've had several blood tests, chest x ray, abdominal ultrasound that has all come back clear except the ultrasound showed a lot of gas, now I'm just stuck with this horrible feeling in my throat, and I seem to be able to feel my adams apple then like a knobbly bit which I'm guessing is my windpipe or thyroid then there seems to be another lump, not visible to the naked eye jus when I feel it, if there was a nodule would you just be able to see it?!?

I don't want to go back to my doctor I've been so many times I jus feel like I'm talking to a brick wall now sad

• Posted

Hello  James: