Lyme Disease just diagnosed after 4 years ... reaching out to anyone who understands

Posted , 17 users are following.

Hello,

I have been visiting my GP for 4 years with worsening symptoms.  He told me it was chronic fatigue and just referred me to clinical psychology and physiotherapy to learn how to accept it.  He prescribed me medication for all of my symptoms: propranalol for heart palpetations, codine for migraine and body aches particualrly in joints and weird nerve-like pain in my face. I was also proscribed antibiotics for constantly recurring water infections and sinusitis.  There was nothing they could suggest for the memory loss, dizziness, being off-balance, blurred vision, lack of concentration and severe cognitive dysfunction to the point of being unable to talk coherently.  

Despite knowing that i had been bitten over 100 times and being sent to hospital while abroad, then having flu-like symptoms and severe fever when i returned (this was 4 years ago), on no occasion did my GP suggest the possibility of Lyme Disease.

My condition got so bad that i gave up my career as a professional (i'm a university lecturer in Education) and, living alone after my relationship failing due to my health, i was struggling and wondering what my future held.  I wondered if there was any point living as the pain and the brain-fog was making me feel like i was insane.  I saw my friends and family cast doubting looks and they began to call me a hypochondriac.  I then began keeping things to myself and just suffering alone.

Last week i ordered private blood testing and 4 days ago i found out i was positive for Lyme Disease.