Lyrica Pregabalin 75mg Twice a Day Feel So Bad

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi There, 

I am a newbie here but I am hoping someone can give me some advice.  I have suffered major general anxiety disorder for the past 5 years.  I have had to leave 2 jobs because of it.  I have tried multiple SSRI without much success, I am currently on Sertraline 200mg a day.   Anyway after going through all the NHS hoops I have finally got a really good psychiatrist who has been wonderful.  So far we have tried Quetiapine (which I didn't like) Promethazine (which done nothing at all).  I have now been prescribed Lyrica 75mg to take twice a day, which I asked to try after reading glowing reviews on drugs.com and how it helps with anxiety.  It sounded like the holy grail of anxiety treatment.   I have only managed to take 3 doses of this medicaiton as the side effects have hit me from the first capsule.  I felt totally dizzy and lightheaded.  Couldn't walk straight, the room was spinning.   Feel sick and really not right.  I haven't taken any dose today as I really couldn't take these side effects.  I ended up going back to my GP today and he said maybe the dosage is too high for me.  So he has now prescribed me 25mg twice a day.  I am really not sure if Lyrica is the right medicaiton for me and I am scared to start the new dosage as the initial side effects were so bad. Has anybody else who suffers from GAD tried this drug and has it improved their condition?

Many thanks for reading. 

Mark  

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Mark. This drug did nothing for me until I hit the max dose of 600mg a day. Now I find my anxiety is much better. Of course not everyone is the same, but I'd reccomend trying to stick with it to see if it can help you.

• Posted