Manipulation Under Anaesthetic

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello

I am a newbie to this group. I have had FS for just under a year and had MUA a few days ago.  I am thinking of not using my sling anymore but wanted to know how quickly everyone recovered, went back to work and how much PT they had. Also any gym goers and when did you go back? Thanks 

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Rachel,

You should absolutely follow your Dr.’s orders, but I will tell you that my Dr. had me get rid of the sling as soon as I could feel my arm again.  I even went to physical therapy the same day I had the MUA done, to keep the range of motion going.  The Dr. said the sling was only so I wouldn’t hurt my arm because they did a nerve block for the MUA that lasted about 20 hours.  You are sore, I am sure, but do your exercises and stick with it.  Your range of motion will improve greatly over the next few weeks.  Give it time.  You most likely lost some muscle and will be weak and will need to strength build as you get your arm moving further in every direction.  Best of luck to you!

Barb

• Posted

Oops, I didn’t fully answer your questions...

I went to PT every other day for 3 weeks, then dropped down to PT twice a week for 2weeks, combined with daily exercises at home (stretching and wall slides, etc.).  Was fully back around 2 months after MUA, but can say I will be stretching every morning and night now... can see how it really helps the range of motion.  

• Posted

Thanks Barb so much it’s good to be in contact with others that have FS and hear their experiences x
  • Posted

Hi Rachel