Medical support

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi! Been on/off orlistat for 6 months & just looked on this site for some support. My GP gave me none - I was scared to death when the orange oil appeared!! GP just said orlistat prevented fat being digested so that its excreted with the waste. Nothing about needing to be on a low fat diet, nothing about side effects. My biggest problem is the SMELL of the oil. No-one seems to have mentioned this - does anyone else have it? I'm a teacher so can't be dashing off to the loo, nor working with an awful pong in my pants! Also, after an initial loss of 4lbs in the first week, theres been no further weightloss. Is anyone else finding that they don't really work? Any tips very welcome.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hiya

When they say low fat it really has to be something around 10-15grams of fat per meal. I never go above that and if i do i never go anywhere near as much as 20 grams of fat.

Stick to fruit, veg, salady stuff and keep away from white bread (lots of hidden fats and sugar in there). That's about all i've been doing and have not had a single accident yet (touch wood).

As for the actual weight loss the exercise is really really important. 30 mins a day at first then push it up to an hour. Cardio is supposed to be good for fat burning. Usually i just get on my exercise bike and watch an episode of life on mars or something which gives me just under an hours workout.

Oh and water is a must, as you exercise you lose water as you sweat so you need to keep your body topped up with at least 8 glasses a day (if you can manage it). If your body becomes dehydrated it will slow your metabolism down.

hope all this waffle helps smile and good luck

E

• Posted

Hi MissE.