Medication issue; long term nerve damage and diclofenac!

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some advice. I have had sciatica for nearly six years now; it has been on and off depending on my activity levels and pain killers. I currently take 600mg of Pregabalin and 100mg of Diclofenac a day and that has been working well to keep the pain at bay.

I've been having issues with my voice for the past year and it had been fobbed off as viral (I'm a teacher after all!) but I saw a locum Doc and he said I have silent reflux probably caused by long term Diclofenac use so he gave me Omeprazole and told me to stop taking it. Well I was very achy and then after a week the sciatica in my foot was awful again and I had to start taking it again.

Has anyone else had this problem? I'm not really able to stop taking it but don't want to cause any other issues through long term use. The only other thing is when I was hospitalised last year they gave me ordinary Diclofenac instead of extended release. I have been on that ever since, what can I do?

If you check my other posts you'll see that I've exhausted all other therapies. I go to Yoga weekly and stretching really seems to help. Any advice as what to do/switch too gratefully received!

Thanks

Helen

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

But what is the ROOT CAUSE of your sciatic pain???  Is it in here...

https://patient.info/forums/discuss/sciatic-nerve-pain-from-the-perspective-of-many-decades-629096

If yes, get it fixed.  If not, go see a neurosurgeon, get a CT/Myelogram with contrast and pinpoint the place in your spine causing the problem...then get it fixed once and for all.  (Note: This is assuming that the issue is NOT because of simple hip or spine alignment...mine was a bone spur at L4.)  No one should live with that pain...no one!!!