Men-Anal Fistula problem after Abscess

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi Newbie here so sorry if a waffle on

I'm just wondering if anyone else has been in the same situation?

December 2013 i went to my doctor as i thought i had piles or something and was told to go straight to A & E. That night they booked me in for a operation to remove an abscess. After the operation i was left with a big hole. The hole was 4cm deep by 2cm wide and had to be packed everyday at various medical centres ( Which i had to find myself )

After a few weeks I had to go back to the doctors as i ended up with an infection and was prescribed anti-biotics...

Finally in the middle of January i had my final pack and was told it's healed quickly!

Brilliant i thought ! as i had been off work all this time, couldn't sit or drive to work! But within days i had another infection start ....the pain was really bad and was prescribed anti-biotics for the second time.

This carried on for some weeks and after a number of doctor visits i was then put on ZAPAIN (Codeine Phosphate / paracetamol )

I'd had enough and after constantly phoning the hospital they finally got me back in and was told it was now a fistula? They put a band through the fistula and out my anus and tied it to drain any fluid! So now i think YES! finally getting somewhere.........NOPE, i v'e just been to see my consultant at the hospital again because every time i go to the toilet, i'm climbing the walls in pain!!

I'm now taking Zomorph 10mg and Zapain for pain relief and have taken my final anti-biotics.

I can't sit down for long and i'm still off work 4 and a half months after having my abscess removed..........This is the worst thing that's ever happened to me and it's effecting me emotionally - financially .......I'm lucky to have a very understanding girlfriend but i can't help think is this going to ever end>? :o(

I'm now on the waiting list to have the band removed and more investigation done. Shheeeshhhh