Meniscus tear

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone,

Tore my meniscus in my right knee 2 days ago. Still got some swelling in the knee but pretty much have full range of motion, although it is painful when it is straight. Does anyone know roughly how long it takes until you're able to walk with no pain? Going on holiday in 13 days so I'm just a little worried about that.

Thanks

James

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi James, it depends where the tear is and how big it is. Have you been to your doctor? If you look online for exercises for meniscus injuries and pick a couple to do that may help. I tore my meniscus over a year ago and still have pain when walking especially after psyio & exercise.
  • Posted

Hi James,

i tore my meniscus in my right knee.  Pain was pretty bad, it kept "locking" and I couldn't move for a minute or so, which was a bugger, as I worked in a hospital as a Wardie and pushed patients on beds all day.  I actually had an arthroscopy operation and got the tear fixed.  2 weeks off work, back about a week, and restore it.  Didn't get it fixed again.  It can take a while for the pain to go but I needed a bilateral knee replacement badly so couldn't tell which was causing the pain.

i doubt this helps you, I'm sorry.  I just know it's painful for quite a while.  Good luck with everything. X

• Posted

That was meant to say "retore" not " restore".  Damn predictive text lol
  • Posted

Did you not ask your doctor,, .  Think 6 weeks before being in a comfortable position and that is if you are being sensible.  When out and about try wearing a support, helps your stability and confidence
  • Posted

Hi James

I could walk on mine more or less straight away but when I went back to work after a month my problems started.

With hindsight, I now wish I hadn't walked so far, just done the exercises.

How old are you, by the way

• Posted