Menopause - Hating Life

Posted , 11 users are following.

I just turned 51 and menopause is hitting me hard. You name the symptom, I have it to an unbearable degree.

I have constant hot flashes to the point where I have to leave the house as soon as possible in the mornings so that I can cool down and even breathe. All clothes feel disgusting. I might as well never take a shower because I'll take one and be sweating two minutes later.

My anger has gotten out of control. Twice in the last six months I have lost my cool and completely screamed at strangers. I go into uncontrollable rages and scream and break things. My husband is at his wit's end and has been ready to leave me. I've tried to inform him about menopause symptoms but he'd rather blame me and feel sorry for himself.

I've gotten so hateful I don't want to talk to anyone, even distancing myself from my children, which I've never done before.

I never sleep and my job/education has suffered greatly due to chronic insomnia. The insomnia is debilitating.

I've gotten fat and can't stand to look at myself. People who say you should go out and exercise no matter how tired you are should just stuff it. I'm too sleep-deprived to do anything or even care anymore. I used to be very fit and exercised every day.

I have an appointment with an ob-gyn to discuss HRT after Christmas. Hopefully that will bring me to some degree of sanity.

Hopefully somebody out there can relate. Don't tell me I'm depressed, I already know that.

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hey Laura,

I am very sorry to hear about your condition. Maybe you should try engaging in some activities like hitting the gym or going for regular swims? These will help reduce your anxiety levels.

Have you thought about taking any natural vitamins or supplements?

• Posted

hi Laura,

youre taking the right step going to discuss hrt. it helps no end of women. my anxiety rocketed suddenly so i got put on antidepressants rather than hrt.