Methotrexate

Posted , 8 users are following.

My Rheumatologist has recommended I start Methotrexate. 

In reading about it, it seems to be one scary medication. Stuff like, 'do not store your bottle of Methotrexate with other medications' or   'anyone other than the patient handling the med needs to wear protective gloves' and so on. Furthermore regular follow up (eg. fortnightly) of LFT's because of impact on the liver. 

It's all got me thinking, will the advantages of this treatment outweigh the disadvantages?

Thoughts anyone?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Megheart,

I have no personal experience of taking methotrexate, though I know many people who post on these boards have found it very helpful. I'm sure they'll all come in with their positive experiences.

My only experience is that of a 60-year-old colleague who has been taking it for RA for nearly 10 years. During that time her health has deteriorated seriously, with 5-6 attacks of bronchitis per year these days. She never seems to recover fully from the previous attack before the next one begins. The recent flu bug (which admittedly has been a particularly bad one for many of us) resulted in her being hospitalised for two weeks with pneumonia.

She also has moderate signs of liver toxicity.

I'm not saying these endless lung problems are automatically due to the damping-down effect of methotrexate on her immune system. She is also quite severely obese, which never helps if one has a tendency to chest infections.