Might have RA and want to understand it better

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, I'm a 17 year old girl and I was recently told that I probably have Rheumatoid Arthritis. I had an inflammation in my eye called Irisitis and the doctor asked if I was experiencing any joint pain which I am especially in my knees. They have now told me that this may be connected and that I need to have blood tests and I need to do some research into RA. As I am completely new to all of this and am slightly worried about what this all means for me and my future I felt that maybe the best thing to do is ask the people that have RA. So I'm asking for any stories, advice, information on treatments, anything that will help me understand this all a little bit better so that its all a little less scary. Any information would be great.

Thank you

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hiya Emily.

Hopefully, you may not have RA as I'm sure no one ideally would want to. If you do though, I'm fairly new to it too but that's because my mum was diagnosed last year. She is much older than you, as am I! What I do know is that this site is so helpful and great people are always willing to share experiences which has helped us no end. We also find our doctors and nurses at the hospital great too.....so, whatever RA may or may not bring you Emily, I wish you well and try not to worry. You are doing all the right things researching etc.

• Posted