Minor Twitch in thumb has me worried

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello. Yesterday, my thumb was twitching without my input, and now I am anxious that I have CJD as I also had pins and needles for a brief moment in my hand (hadn't had any other tingling sensation since yesterday). 

So far, nothing has really changed apart from feeling very anxious due to death anxiety propping up on me again, which I believe has resulted in other very minor unintentional movements in calf muscle in legs. 

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Forgot to mention, I am 23 years of age. 
  • Posted

Hi Liam,

Do you think you might be overreacting just a tad?wink

I'm a former neuro nurse, albeit from way back when, and that doesn't sound remotely like CJD to me. I think you've been consulting Dr. Google a bit too much, especially as you've very honestly admitted that you suffer from health anxiety.

We all get minor muscle twitches and tingling sensations from time to time. I suspect what's happened here is that you've just happened to notice these latest events and are now putting too much attention on them. As you quite rightly say, this can itself result in further muscle twitches.

It sounds from what you say as if you've had anxiety-generated problems like this before. I wonder how you normally deal with them. Perhaps you could think back over these other attacks and use them to cope with the present one. I also wonder whether you're getting treatment for your health/death anxiety. CBT is usually the best option, but you do have to find a good practitioner. I'm afraid there are too many half-qualified people jumping on the CBT bandwagon these days.

If you need further reassurance you could always consult your doctor - the real one, I mean - but there's always a risk that he/she will just reach for the prescription pad and put you on more medication.