Mirtazapine

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was prescribed it for sleep problems with Parkinsons, I took the first dose 15 mgs 15 minutes before bedtime, by then I was feeling as if I was sinking and heavy. Got to bed and must have gone off practically in a few minutes, (That never happens)  I woke up this morning 7am feeling as if I'd been drugged. The only reason I got out of bed was the dog and cat were scratching at the door to come see me. I feel drunk, confused, can't walk straight. I feel as if I weigh an absolute ton, my mouth will not stop slavering. No more of them for me, I need to lead a life not be a zombie.

I fee like I have been poisoned.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi

I was exactly the same the first time I took mirtazapine. Although for me it was relief as I had been sleeping for only 2hrs a night for 2 months because of severe panic attacks.

I can say that after a week or two you start to feel normal. I was sleeping for about 10-12 hours a night. Take it about half an hour before bed, go to bed early and you'll feel a little bit tired in the morning but it lifts after an hour or so.

Also, I never ever felt so drugged as I did the very first time I had it. It was just the first time that I felt like I couldn't even walk to bed.

Mirtazapine was great for me. The best AD I've ever had. I'd stay on it for life if I didnt gain 11 kg on it. It's also very easy to get off in my experience.

All the best xo

• Posted

I was like that the first day and it got gradually better over the course of a week until the drowsiness the following day was completely gone after around 10 days. Now I don't feel in the slightest bit drugged. It honestly gets noticably better every single day. I was surprised at how quickly I was functioning as normal. I have been on mirtazapine now for 3 years and it still really helps me to sleep, but I can get up at the crack of dawn and feel alert and refreshed.
    • Posted