Mirtazapine Question - too much sleeping

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello,

It's my first time on here and I'm seeking advice.

I'm 60 and have a few health problems, mainly M.S. and FBSS (failed back surgery syndrome) and I manage pretty well with the pain involved with these.

I also have a pysch hsitory. Anxiety and agoraphobia cost me 26 years of normal life. However, after a diagnosis of borderline personality disorder and a long course of a new talking therapy, these things are much, much better.

The problem is that I'm going through what feels like the world's longest divorce. Reactive depression has been a consequence to be expected. After struggling with Prozac, I was given Mirtazapine and have been taking 15mg/day for about eight months. 

The snag is that I'm sleeping too much. I habitually settle down to sleep at about 3am. I set my alarm for 10.30am. Come the morning, I hear the alarm, and will rise if something must be done. But most days, I'll let the alarm (music on my phone) keep rolling on. I then tend to surface at about noon, or later.

Being self-employed, I don't need to follow a normal pattern of work. A rude awakening, such as a phone call or postal delivery, can have me feeling dozy all day long.

I've read about Mirtazapine's being used for insomnia and the situation begs a question. I've never felt good in the morning anyway but...

* Is the Mirtazapine dose enough to make me somnolent like this?

or

* Am I avoiding facing the day because of the depression, and I need to take more Mirtazapine?

I have no strong feelings about Mirtazapine. I don't feel dependent on it and it seems to make me generally more cheerful.

So, I'm considering dropping the dose to 7.5mg/day. I usually take it at midnight. I usually drop off to sleep fairly easily and, apart from some spectacular dreams, I sleep well enough.