Mirtazapine tapering/quitting advice

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I've been on Mirtazapine for 5 weeks. 1st week at 7.5mg then 4 weeks at 15mg.

I've decided to come off them. They have had a negative affect on my sleep and I haven't slept well since I started them. I'm really struggling too as each day is like a fog and they haven't really helped my anxiety either. My GP has advised to increase the dose to 30mg but I'm very reluctant to proceed given my current experience.

How would people advise coming off them. Maybe lowering to 7.5 mg and then 3.75mg and if so for how long? Or, given how long i've been on them quit cold turkey?

Many thanks for any advice

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I have some experience with antidepressants, however Martizapine is a new one I started taking recently. I am taking it for insomnia and anxiety.

It is strange that medication has not started working properly for you yet. Either you need a bigger dose or it is not for you. If you for example need a 1-2 paracetamols to stop the pain, this may be similar with any dose of medication. I know that I only need 0.5 paracetamol to stop the pain, so I do not take more. This is because any chemicals work for me in small quantities, as I am sensitive to them.

When I started the Martizapine I bought the pill cutter online and started from 0.25 of tablet which was 7.5mg. It worked on me almost immediately as I could not run fast enough to bed, I was so sleepy. Now, almost 3 weeks into the treatment, I can stay as I am or take more if I want. Even with this small dose, I have some reltless legs and some fast pulse from time to time.

You could go to the chemist and speak to one in private about your issues. Almost every chemist has now a consultation room. They might explain to you how long is too long to wait for results with this medicine.

It is good to chat to someone who knows more.