Mirtazapine Withdrawal - Any advice will be appreciated!

Posted , 3 users are following.

Please, help sad

I've been on Mirtazapine for about 3 years. A year ago, I started reducing the dosage - From 45mg to 30mg for 3 months, then 15mg for 3 months, and 7.5mg for 6 months. Each time I had some nausea, diharrea and dizziness for about 2 weeks and that's it.

I started cutting the pills into 3.75 for about 2 weeks. Then took some crumbs for 3-4 days and finally stopped completely 3 days ago. I felt OK the whole time (just tired) but last night it hit me like a train. I couldn't sleep at all, anxiety is through the roof, can't think straight, so jittery sad And, of course, nausea & diharrea.

I'm a collage student and my final exams start in a week and half. I'm really worried I will not be "ok" by then. I don't mean completely without withdrawal symptoms. Just more tolerable ones... I can't imagine going through another night like this. I was walking around the house from side to side going crazy. I've never had such problems before, so I'm SURE it's not my anxiety coming back.

Please, any advice will be very helpful. How long does it normally take to for the anxiety/insomnia to start easing up? Does it get gradually better or does it come in waves? Is there something I can use to take the edege off? I have Oxazepam and Clonazapm at home. Will it be ok to take for a few days? Is it likely that I would be a bit better by the time my exams start?

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

Having had bad withdrawal experience for 4 weeks now I'd suggest you go back on the dose you last felt stable on until you finish your exams. Your other pills would help but if you needed to take them for weeks you might then suffer with the whole new level of withdrawals as they're highly addictive. I hope that helps. Good luck!

• Posted

Thanks. 

I was thinking of going back to 3.75mg tonight (altough they're hard to cut even with a good pill splitter).