mirtazapine withdrawal - Heart palpitations and a very erratic sleep pattern

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been tapering off a 15mg dose for the last 2 months. I am now down to 2.5mg (crushed up) There are at least 3 nights a week that I dont sleep at all! But these sleepless nights are often followed by a 10 hour sleep. I'm hoping that this is only from withdrawal symptoms that will improve in time.

I have heart palpitations and songs (a few lyrics of a song) that will repeat over and over. I have read on a website that this can be part of withdrawwal symptoms.

Has anyone else shared a similar experience?

2 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

How long were you on mirtz?  I have been on it for 3 months and due to the never ending weight gain (and seemingly no end in sight no matter how I starve myself) I've decided to get off this.  My dr says split my 15 mg in half for one week, and then take that every other night for a week, then split it again.  In other words, slowly taper down.  

How did you taper?  I don't know about the heart palpitations but I always have songs on my mind.  That doesn't bother me unless it's a sleepless night, which I have had about every other night.  

I have been taking a natural sleep med called Sleep Thru and doubling up on that with the taper - it seems to help at times.

I don't think I've really given you an answer, but wondered what you will do once you completely finish mirtz.  Do you have a new plan for sleep?

My dr says there is a brand new sleep med called Belsorma.  I'm going to research this.

Anyone heard of it?

• Posted

OMG I am so glad you are saying this too "due to the never ending weight gain (and seemingly no end in sight no matter how I starve myself)"

My pdoc actually insisted that the weightloss was max 4-6 lbs and just for the first few weeks. I'm like "yeah no... that's not what other patiens write online" and he looks at me like "online? Seriously? What do you know about this anyway"....