Moderate left flank pain

Posted , 4 users are following.

The other day, I started having some pain on my left side right below my ribs. The pain is continuously getting worse and it hurts to move, take a deep breath and trying to sleep is impossible. I've been unable to finish a full meal also, even though I'm crazy hungry. Trying to get over yet another sinus infection but it's just not happening. The pain is excruciating and I can't figure this one out. Being an emt, I know my quadrants and what's in them. Don't think it's a rib so I'm leaning more towards spleen. Help!!! Thanks!

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

When you say you are an EMT, do you mean ENT?   What tests have you had? Try a food diary and eat little bur often. See your doctor again.
    • Posted

No I am an emergency medical technician (emt). I haven't gone to the doc yet. I have a lump/bulge over one of my lower ribs, with minor swelling. But the pain is starting to radiate and is getting worse. I just can't think of how i could've injured a rib and the pain started randomly.

• Posted

Maybe you have Tietze syndrome which causes pain and swelling at the juncture of your ribs and breastbone. It is similar to costochondritis which causes pain in the same area but doesn't result in swelling.  I got costochondritis suddenly after a long bout of stress.

• Posted

Interesting idea, I didn't think about that. Definitely a possibility!

• Posted

Although the pain is on my side, not at my breast bone.
    • Posted

Maybe the pain below your ribs is radiating up to your side.  Costochondritis Tietze syndrome pain can be down the front of your ribcage, beneath your ribs, sides and round your back.
    • Posted

Swelling increased so I decided to get checked. 2 cracked/fractured ribs, apparently from all of the coughing I've been doing lately with the infections I've had. Thanks a lot for your help!! Just going to take time to heal!

• Posted