more meds

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi All,

hope you are all well,

Have been prescribed Spiriva today, any thoughts??

thanx

Echoxx

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

[color=darkred:aa8eadfe7f]Hi everyone

I was reading your experiences with spiriva and was quite shocked that some GPs wont prescribe this cause it's too expensive. sad

I know how expensive it is as I thought I was going to be stuck in Spain with the volcanic ash. I only had two days left of spiriva and it looked like we were going to have to stay there for another 7 days. Went to the chemist and they requested €53 which equated to £49 at the exchange rate of that time. I won't be caught short again and will always take extra medication with me wherever I go. :oops:

I am not too good at the moment and have been taking extra Ventolin but I am always like this in May. I'm sure it has something to do with the pollin.

Lizzie53

[color=darkred][/color:aa8eadfe7f][/color]

• Posted

Hi Flossie and all,

Spiriva is the more recently developed long acting version of Atrovent. It has few to no side effects. Interestingly although you take it once every 24 hours, it works for 32 hours. You experience no symptoms of having taken too much during those hours where the two overlap and there is no breakthrough SOB when the medication is wearing off as it doesn't have a chance to wear off.

The only negative thing about Spiriva is that it doesn't work for everyone, it either works wonders or doesn't work at all, but for the majority of patients - it works wonders. (the forgoing info is taken from one of my COPD books - I am not a chemist!)

Also -from another book - Anticholingerics (Spiriva / Atrovent) have few side effects. The most common is dry mouth - so just drink water after taking your medication - and also dry cough. More seriously it can worsen pre existing glaucoma and cause difficulties for men with prostate problems.

Luv Van xx

• Posted