more pain on gabapenyin

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all, i started gabapentin 11th july for bilateral sciatica. I am also taking naproxen ,lansoperazole and occasional cocodamol.I have had  a bad back and sciatica since may sad.  I took gaba 100 mg twice a day then increased  6th July to 3 time a day 100 mg.  On the 9th aug i increased to 200 mg 3 x daily. My pain continued to increase i rang my Gp who stated to increase to 300 mg  3 x a day which , i did increase 28th august. So today is 3rd Sept and my pain is increasing again, i am not going to increase anymore as i  am feeling brain fog all the time and feel very drugged. I drive for a living and could not drive on a larger dose. Questions  why is my pain increasing especially in my calfs. What reducing regime should i do having been on this drug 53 days?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi what a cocktail of drugs. Have you ever had an MRI scan of your back to find out the cause of your back pain. 
    • Posted

Hi Jhow, no the drs just want me to have physio which, i have been having for may months since January as i originally pulled my back in  December, the sciatica occurred during May while i was still having  physio. I have been to a chiro had 6 sessions with no benefit. I have been referred to an orthopedic Dr who i see 18th of  this month. My right leg is the worst, the pain goes from buttock  all the way to the underside of my foot, the left leg it is more buttock and  thigh but get lots of calf twitching x 
    • Posted

I totally agree with Babs, I am surprised a therapist would touch your back without knowing what the cause of pain is. A chiro should have arranged a scan tbh. The ortho dr will probably order  an MRi scan but u must tell him that you have seen a chiro.