Moving on....

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi... I'm a 48 year old newbie to this site. I am two and a half months on since suffering my second unprovoked pulmonary embolism. My lung is slowly improving though I have ongoing bouts of pain which I've had on and off since my first embolism. I am also anaemic which is adding to my fatigue, breathlessness and brain fog though I am being treated with iron infusions for this.

My main problem is in accepting the above. I feel angry that I have suffered a second clot and need to take medication for the rest of my life. I try to put on a brave face but tears never feel far away. I don't believe I am clinically depressed and I have a good support network but I don't want all our conversations to be about my PE!!! 

i am wondering if others felt the same way and if so how they managed to move forward.... any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, Catherine

2 likes, 29 replies

29 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

A support group would be awesome! I could find nothing when I Googled it hence wrote the post here instead! The support and topics have helped me a lot over the past few weeks! Knowing that anxiety is suffered by many of us out there helps me feel normal! :-)
    • Posted

Hello All, this is what I am passionate about and want to do and develop for a 'Moving On VTE Support Group', pls excuse spelling etc

'People with stress enter a state of fear > flight or fight

When I had DVT/PE, I entered into a so called 'primative state of being- having a wider peripheral vision and production of health sustaining hormones.

My personal VTE stress experience

At the end of this post, is a draft logic map showing my personal VTE view on stress and need for group support, i would like additions or amendments.

There maybe gaps in logic flow, interpretation with semantics, and misunderstanding of language.