MTX newbie..

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I'm new to methotrexate and want to check some side effects that don't seem to be listed.  I take 5mg, so a low dose, and on about week 6.  Two immediate side effects are horrible joint pain and stiffness to the point it's difficult to walk once i have been sitting for even a short time, and also a rash on my face that is hot and slightly itchy.  The MTX does work to control my problem, which is urticarial vasculitis.  Another side effect is that my neutrophil count keeps dropping - it went down to 1.8 (normal range is 3-8 I believe) so I stopped the MTX for two weeks and the count went up to 3, but since resuming the drug is dropping again. (Have had previous hospitalisation for compromised bone marrow with Dapsone, so a little wary).  Dermatologist airily waves away my concerns.  Is she right to?

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hello. Clare! I dont know your condition its probably an off label use for your condition as it is mine (Lupus). YOU dont let any doctor any nurse wave your concerns off!!! Your body, then girl YOU own it and YOU manage it. MTX is a crazy drug. Serious serious....proper care is required.  You are now officially sun sensitive. Be a vampire. Limit sun exposure and heat exposure, this will cause rashes. Cool temps and shade are essential. Watch your drug interactions! Take folic acid on the NON treatment days. MTX kills the bad cells that replicate but it also kills other good cells.  So wash your hands all the time, get some hand sanitizer.  Good luck we are all here if you need any advice.  Best.  Sunny
  • Posted