MVD effects - good and bad

Posted , 2 users are following.

Bob - What a pleasure to hear from a MVD "alumni" from UMPC.  It was so nice of you to write to me.  It sounds like you have experienced a much more difficult time than I did with multiple MVDs and I commend you for being a survivor.  Although I had HFS for 17 years, I had a successful surgery without significant side effects.  I live in Colorado and went to Dr Kasam at UPMC sight unseen until the day before surgery.  I followed in the chat room with other HFS victims and decided he would be my best pick.  I can't say enough nice things about him or the nursing staff at UPMC.  I, too, periodically experience some familialr pulling and movement on the left side of my face, even now.  Fortunately they usually disappear in about 2 weeks

I'm a nurse but somehow never considered the anesthesia being a cause for the larynx paralysis.  I did have a 5 hour surgery then but really haven't had to have anesthesia like that for the last 15 years.  Could the symptoms possibly just now be showing up?  I will discuss that with the voice Dr.  I am going in onTues for a procedure that will involve having a filler injected into the paralyzed side of my voice box to hopefully help my voice. It's exhausting to speak because I have to push the air thru my airway so hard to get sound out.  I'll let you know how the procedure goes.  I am wondering how difficult it will be with the left side of the voice box permanently enlarged.

Have a good weekend.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted