My arches go numb after walking for about 20 minutes

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

So my arches go numb after walking for about 20 minutes. They will also go numb by the end of the day if I walk in increments. It first start happening in the left foot, then in the right after depending on it more. I had been walking barefoot on my hard wood floors for 5 years and that could be the reason. I don’t jog. At one point it was so bad I had to use a scooter to get around my apartment. I got $600 orthotics made using infrared scanning but they still go numb after about 20 minutes of walking and I feel they don’t support enough but the Podiatrist seems to think so. Ice gets rid of the numbness. The Podiatrist says the facia in the arch I getting inflamed and causing swelling which is pinching a nerve. I’ve done hamstring stretches, calf stretches (towel pull) for weeks. Got new New Balance walking shoes and my arches still don't last a day just walking around my tiny apartment. It’s been going on for almost 2 months now. If I push it too far then I will get a little heel pain but that doesn’t happen often. Its affecting my entire life. I cant go anywhere, I can’t clean my home, I have to sit on a stool when using the kitchen. All to avoid my arches from getting numb. I'm in the US. Has anyone had something similar and is there anything else I can do? Certain exercises? Stretches? Other physical therapy? Do I need to not walk at all for a while? Anything. 

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Have you explored Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome?  Sounds like what I had and ended up getting surgery for it. 
  • Posted

I figured out what it was. I had to do a Facia release on my lower back. Basically a deep message. Cured it. Crazy thats all i needed and i was hobbling on a knee rover for months.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!