My boyfriend has PTSD and is pushing me away

Posted , 6 users are following.

I’ve known my boyfriend since we were in 5th grade and we recently started dating...we had a great day on a Friday, he told me that I was his safe place, Sunday he told me that he needed space to work things out in his head, after battling an illness his mother passed away on Tuesday, I found out on Facebook on that Wednesday. He’s is ofcourse being distant, I offered my condolences to him, I got very short responses, but everyone that offered theirs to him on Facebook got sentences of appreciation from him....he’s being so nice to everyone BUT ME....breaks my heart, I know he’s grieving and I’m giving him his space..I’m new to ptsd and we’ve been friends for over 30 years so I’m NOT going anywhere...has anyone ever experienced the “being nice to others BUT me”?? 

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

It sounds very typical of a sufferers behavior. My ex always treated strangers like they were supreme beings, while treating me like I was just an ordinary character in his life. We just recently made up from a six month shut down and block of communication. The time spent without him has allowed me to educate myself about ptsd and so now I’m a lot more prepared for his actions and behavior. When he’s not symptomatic, we have the best conversations, but when he’s not well, I don’t know what to expect. It’s gonna take him some time to regain the lost trust I now have due to everything that has happened. Good luck with getting through the tough times.
  • Posted